This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Student Prize

The iHEA Student Prize is to recognize excellence by students in the field of health economics. It was first awarded in 1999 and biennially thereafter to coincide with the iHEA congress. As from 2017, there will be a standing Student Paper Prize committee to award this prize annually to the Masters or Doctoral student paper judged as best in the award year. Each year the Committee will consider a short list of submitted papers evaluated by all of the committee members using similar criteria to that of the long established Arrow Award.

Call for Nominations for the 2019 iHEA Annual Student Paper Prize
Deadline for Nominations: January 11th, 2019

The International Health Economics Association (iHEA) is pleased to invite nominations for the Annual Student Paper Prize in Health Economics.  

Nominations should include a brief letter of nomination (250 words max) and a copy of the paper (preferably pdf).

A student is defined as someone currently studying (full or part time) at a higher education institution, at either Masters or Doctoral level.  In addition, students who have completed their studies in the year previous to the announcement qualify as long as the paper was written while registered as a student.

Papers can be published or unpublished, but must be in comparable format to a published paper in Journal of Health Economics or Health Economics, of maximum length 8,000 words.  Self nomination is acceptable.  Papers should be in English.  If a submitted paper has more than one author, the student contribution must be at least 75% overall and an accompanying letter must be signed by co-authors to support this, stating the nature of their contribution (conceptualization, analysis, writing etc.).  A joint student paper with 50-50 contributions is acceptable.  Previous winners are not eligible.

Papers will be reviewed by an International Committee chaired by Professor Bruce Hollingsworth.

The Prize will be subsidized travel and attendance at the 2019 iHEA Congress in Basel to present the paper in a Student Prize Special Organised Session chaired by the iHEA President, or Chair of the Prize Committee; the equivalent of US$1,000; and the offer (if the author wishes, and the paper is unpublished) of potential fast track publication in Health Economics, subject to Editorial approval.  

The papers in 2nd and 3rd place will receive the equivalent of US$250 each and free registration (but not travel) at the 2019 Basel iHEA Congress. They will be invited to give brief presentations at the iHEA Congress Student Prize Special Organized Session.  

Please submit nominations, and address queries by email to:

2018 Prize Winners

We are very pleased to announce the 2018 Prize is being awarded to the joint student paper by Mujaheed Shaikh and Tobias Muller (Austria/Switzerland) "Your retirement and my health behavior: Evidence on retirement externalities from a fuzzy regression discontinuity design”. The paper presents evidence on intra-household retirement externalities by assessing the causal effect of spousal retirement on various health behaviors and health status across 19 European countries. It identifies significant increases in the frequency and intensity of alcohol consumption combined with a significant decrease in moderate physical activities as a response to partner’s retirement. They find that own retirement has significant positive effects on engaging in moderate and vigorous physical activities but also leads to a significant increase in the frequency of alcohol intake, and that subjective health is negatively affected by spousal retirement and positively by own retirement. 

Honorable mentions go to the 2nd placed joint paper by Ana Marıa Costa-Ramonand and Ana Rodrıguez-Gonzalez (Spain) "It’s About Time: Cesarean Sections and Neonatal Health”, and joint 3rd place papers by Quitterie Roquebert and Marianne Tenand (France) "Pay less, consume more? The price elasticity of home care for the disabled elderly in France”; and Adrian Rubli (USA) “Low-Cost, Limited-Service Private Healthcare Providers: Evidence from Mexico”.


Student Prize Committee

Chairperson: Bruce Hollingsworth (Lancaster University, UK)
Tinna Asgeirsdottir (University of Iceland)
Rachel Baker (Glasgow Caledonian University, Scotland)
Edwine Barasa (KEMRI-Wellcome, Kenya)
Nicole Black (Monash University, Australia)
Emma Frew (University of Birmingham, UK)
Toshiaki Iizuka (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Rowena Jacobs (York University, UK)
Mustafa Karakus (WESTAT)
Arturo Schweiger (Universidad Isalud, Argentina)
Peter Sivey (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology)
Aparnaa Somanathan (World Bank, Sri Lanka)
Raf van Gestel (Erasmus University, Netherlands)
Dominika Wranik (Dalhousie University, Canada)


Previous Student Prize winners




Mujaheed Shaikh and Tobias Muller (Austria/Switzerland),Your retirement and my health behavior: Evidence on retirement externalities from a fuzzy regression discontinuity design.


Raf Van Gestel (University of Antwerp) and TobiasMüller(University of Lucerne),Does My High Blood Pressure Improve Your Survival? Overall and Subgroup Learning Curves in Health.


Joseph Dieleman, IHME, University of Washington,Measuring the displacement and replacement of government health expenditure.


Ranjeeta Thomas, University of York,Conditional cash transfers to improve education and health: an ex ante evaluation of Red de Protección Social, Nicaragua


Pedro Rosa Dias, University of York.Inequality of opportunity in health: evidence from a UK cohort study.


Stephanie von Hinke Kessler Scholder, University of Bristol,Maternal employment and overweight children: does timing matter?


Teresa Bago d’Uva, University of York,Latent class models for utilization of health care.


Paula Gonzalez, Universidad Pablo de Olavide,Sevilla,Should physicians’ dual practice be limited? An incentive approach.


Nazmi Sari, Boston University,Do managed care and competition improve quality? Evidence from US hospital markets.


Mathias Kifmann, Universität Konstanz,Community rating in health insurance and different benefit packages.

Contact Us

411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, ON M5A 3S5




The International Health Economics Association was formed to increase communication among health economists, foster a higher standard of debate in the application of economics to health and health care systems, and assist young researchers at the start of their careers.

Read More About Us