This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join

iHEA is guided by its official Bylaws (updated July 2017). It is governed by the Board of Directors and managed by an appointed team. There are several Board committees that undertake specific functions or are constituted to address issues on an ad-hoc basis. While these committees include representatives from the Board of Directors, participation from other iHEA members is also increasingly being sought through open calls for expressions of interest.


Board Committees:

Executive Committee

Finance Committee

Professional Development Subcommittee (PDS)

Fundraising Subcommittee

Nominating Committee



The Executive Committee, which generally meets on a monthly basis, makes decisions and takes actions on behalf of the iHEA Board between Board meetings. There are explicit limits on the decision-making powers of the Executive Committee (e.g. it may not amend the Bylaws) and the minutes of these meetings are circulated shortly after each meeting to ensure that Executive Committee decisions have the support of all Board members.


Chair: Winnie Yip, Harvard University (President)

David Bishai, Johns Hopkins University (Past-President)
Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto (President-Elect)
Rosalie Viney, University of Technology Sydney (Treasurer)
Kara Hanson, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (Additional Board member)

The Finance Committee monitors iHEA income and expenditure through reviewing the report of the independent auditor. It also provides advice on financial management and monitors iHEA’s investments.


Chair: Rosalie Viney, University of Technology Sydney (Treasurer)
Sverre Kittelsen, University of Oslo
Paula Lorgelly, University College London
Anthony Scott, University of Melbourne
Aparnaa Somanathan, World Bank
Di McIntyre, University of Cape Town (Ex-officio as Executive Director)


The iHEA 2020 strategic planning process identified improved benefits and activities for members between the biennial congress as a priority. One initiative by the iHEA Board in this regard has been to establish a Professional Development Subcommittee (PDS). The role of this subcommittee is to advise the Board on new initiatives that help health economists as individuals and further the interests of the health economics profession, and assess the effectiveness of those new activities approved by the board once implemented.


Chair: David Bishai, Johns Hopkins University
James Buchanan, University of Oxford
Jo Coast, University of Bristol
Justice Nonvignon, University of Ghana
Albert Okunade, University of Memphis
Thorhildur Ólafsdóttir, DeCODE Genetics, Iceland
Richard Smith, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine


iHEA is expanding its activities to benefit members and the health economics profession more broadly, while keeping membership and congress registration fees as low as possible. The Fundraising Subcommittee will advise the iHEA Board on strategies for raising money to help iHEA pursue its mission, particularly to secure grants and sponsorship for specific ‘between congress’ activities proposed by the PDS that are approved by the board.


Chair: David Bishai, Johns Hopkins University
Louis Garrison, University of Washington
Soonman Kwon, Seoul National University
Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto
Winnie Yip, Harvard University


The Nominating Committee oversees the entire selection and election process for Board Directors and President-Elect. It proactively identifies potential candidates, issues an open call for nominations, screens all nominees, compiles a final list of candidates, oversees campaigning and the election process, and reports on and ensures transparency in these processes. The committee will work intensively during the period of August to November in election years, beginning in 2017.


Chair: Anthony Scott, University of Melbourne

Tinna Ásgeirsdóttir, University of Iceland

John Cawley, Cornell University
Kara Hanson, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Jui-Fen Rachel Lu, Chang Gung University

Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto

Contact Us

411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, ON M5A 3S5




The International Health Economics Association was formed to increase communication among health economists, foster a higher standard of debate in the application of economics to health and health care systems, and assist young researchers at the start of their careers.

Read More About Us