This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
2019 Board Elections

The elections for three member-elected Board Director positions has now closed. Twenty-seven percent of iHEA members voted in the election.


Eight candidates stood for three Board Director positions: Christopher ‘Kitt’ Carpenter; Meltem Daysal; Emma Frew; Manoj Mohanan; Maia Platt; Jennifer Prah Ruger; Sally Stearns; and Virginia Wiseman. Given the relatively large number of candidates standing for the member-elected Board Director positions, the Board decided that it would be most appropriate to use what is known as the “instant-runoff-voting” system, which allowed members to rank their preferences for candidates, in this case from 1 to 8. In terms of this voting system, the person with the least “rank 1” votes is removed from consideration and their votes are distributed to the remaining candidates according to the “rank 2” preference. This process is repeated until there are only three candidates remaining, who are declared the winners.


The three successful candidates in this election, who received the most “rank 1” votes in the first round and were the three candidates remaining after applying the instant-runoff system, are:


  • Emma Frew
  • Sally Stearns
  • Virginia Wiseman

In parallel to the elections, to implement the governance changes introduced through the revised iHEA Bylaws adopted in July 2017, regional and large national health economics associations were approached to nominate Board Directors.  

The association-nominated Directors joining the Board in 2019 are as follows:

  • Richard Smith                       Health Economics Study Group (UK)
  • Erin Strumpf                         Canadian Health Economics Association
  • Jui-fen Rachel Lu                 Tri-country (Japan, Korea & Taiwan) Asian Association network


The iHEA Board for 2019 will therefore be:


Office bearers

David Bishai                         President

Adam Wagstaff                     Past-President

Winnie Chin-man Yip            President-Elect

Audrey Laporte                    Treasurer



John Ataguba

Ana Balsa

Joanna Coast

Emma Frew

Kara Hanson

Florence Jusot

Thorhildur Ólafsdóttir

Tony LoSasso 

Jui-fen Rachel Lu

Tony Scott

Sally Stearns

Erin Strumpf

Richard Smith

Virginia Wiseman


The Board would like to thank all of those who were willing to stand for election, and all iHEA members who took the time to vote in the elections.

Contact Us

411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, ON M5A 3S5




The International Health Economics Association was formed to increase communication among health economists, foster a higher standard of debate in the application of economics to health and health care systems, and assist young researchers at the start of their careers.

Read More About Us