Privacy Policy | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join

iHEA is guided by its official Bylaws (updated July 2017). It is governed by the Board of Directors and managed by an appointed team. There are several Board committees that undertake specific functions or are constituted to address issues on an ad-hoc basis. While these committees include representatives from the Board of Directors, participation from other iHEA members is also increasingly being sought through open calls for expressions of interest.


Board Committees:

Executive Committee

Finance Committee

Ad-hoc Committee on Governance and Bylaws

Ad-hoc Committee on Congress Metrics

Nominating Committee



The Executive Committee, which generally meets on a monthly basis, makes decisions and takes actions on behalf of the iHEA Board between Board meetings. There are explicit limits on the decision-making powers of the Executive Committee (e.g. it may not amend the Bylaws) and the minutes of these meetings are circulated shortly after each meeting to ensure that Executive Committee decisions have the support of all Board members.


Chair: David Bishai, Johns Hopkins University (President)

Adam Wagstaff, World Bank (Past-President)
Winnie Yip, Harvard University (President-Elect)
Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto (Treasurer)
Richard Smith, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (Additional Board member)



The Finance Committee monitors iHEA income and expenditure through reviewing the report of the independent auditor. It also provides advice on financial management and monitors iHEA’s investments.


Chair: Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto (Treasurer)
Ana Balsa, Universidad de Montevideo
Sverre Kittelsen, University of Oslo
Arturo Schweiger, Universidad Isalud, Argentina
Rosalie Viney, University of Technology Sydney
Di McIntyre, University of Cape Town (Ex-officio as Executive Director)



The  Ad-hoc Committee on Governance and Bylaws is critically reviewing the iHEA governance structure and the Bylaws to recommend changes to o ensure transparent, representative and effective governance of iHEA and its activities. In particular, it is considering ways of ensuring that the composition of the Board is appropriate for an international academic association to reflect geographic diversity and from a gender perspective.


Chair: Adam Wagstaff, World Bank
Eugenia Amporfu, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana
John Ataguba, University of Cape Town
Laurence Baker, Stanford University
David Bishai, Johns Hopkins University
Terkel Christiansen, University of Southern Denmark
Hideki Hashimoto, University of Tokyo
Jui-Fen Rachel Lu, Chang Gung University, Taiwan
Tony Scott, University of Melbourne
Richard Smith, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine



The iHEA 2020 strategic planning process identified ensuring the highest possible scientific quality of congresses as a priority. One initiative by the iHEA Board in this regard was to establish an ad-hoc committee on congress metrics. The role of this committee is to develop mechanisms to secure critical input from congress participants on the quality of specific sessions and the congress overall. In addition, it will identify indicators using other data sources, such as bibliometric data, to assess the scientific quality of congresses and changes in this over time.


Chair: Terkel Christiansen, University of Southern Denmark
Ana Balsa, Universidad de Montevideo
Jo Coast, University of Bristol
Tiara Marthias, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia
Felix Masiye, University of Zambia
Adam Wagstaff, World Bank



The Nominating Committee oversees the entire selection and election process for Board Directors and President-Elect. It proactively identifies potential candidates, issues an open call for nominations, screens all nominees, compiles a final list of candidates, oversees campaigning and the election process, and reports on and ensures transparency in these processes. The committee will work intensively during the period of August to November in election years, beginning in 2017.


Chair: Terkel Christiansen, University of Southern Denmark

Tinna Ásgeirsdóttir, University of Iceland

John Cawley, Cornell University

Jui-Fen Rachel Lu, Chang Gung University

Albert Okunade, University of Memphis

Tony Scott, University of Melbourne

Contact Us

411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, ON M5A 3S5




The International Health Economics Association was formed to increase communication among health economists, foster a higher standard of debate in the application of economics to health and health care systems, and assist young researchers at the start of their careers.

Read More About Us