Privacy Policy | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Webinar: Arrow Award Winner, Marika Cabral
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

9/28/2018
When: September 28, 2018
10AM EDT/3PM BST to 11AM EDT/4PM BST
Where: Webinar/Online
Presenter: Marika Cabral
Contact: iHEA


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

iHEA’s Kenneth J. Arrow Award was created to recognize excellence in the field of health economics with the Award presented to the author(s) of the paper judged to be the best paper published in health economics in English in the award year. The Award was set up in honor of Kenneth Arrow and in recognition of the influence of his seminal paper from 1963 “Uncertainty and the welfare economics of medical care”. Professor Arrow was involved in the creation of the Award and he presented the inaugural prize in 1993.

The 26th Arrow Award for the best paper in health economics was awarded to Marika Cabral, for her paper “Claim Timing and Ex Post Adverse Selection” Review of Economic Studies 84(1): 1-44, January 2017. This paper utilizes U.S. dental claims data from a large multinational manufacturing company to examine the effect of strategic treatment delay – a source of ex post adverse selection – on insurance enrollment and consumer welfare.

Biography:

Marika is an Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of Texas at Austin and a Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). She obtained her Ph.D. in economics from Stanford University in 2011 and she obtained her B.A. in economics and applied mathematics from the University of California San Diego in 2006. Her research covers a range of topics in health economics and public finance. Much of her recent research focuses on understanding the role of asymmetric informationand the impact of government intervention in health (and health-related) insurance markets.

Contact Us

411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, ON M5A 3S5
Canada

Email: ihea@healtheconomics.org

Connect

iHEA

The International Health Economics Association was formed to increase communication among health economists, foster a higher standard of debate in the application of economics to health and health care systems, and assist young researchers at the start of their careers.

Read More About Us
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.