Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Boston 2017 Congress

Revolutions in the Economics of Health Systems

Location: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Hosted by: Boston University
Venue: Questrom School of Business, Boston University, 595 Commonwealth Avenue
 (Click Here for Map)

Dates: July 8-11, 2017

Pre-Congress: July 7-8, 2017

Financial support to attend the Boston congress

We received around 300 applications for financial support to participate in the Boston congress.  Unfortunately, it is only feasible to provide some financial support for about a third of applicants. The following criteria have been used to identify the applicants to receive financial support:

  • The person must have an accepted abstract for the congress
  • Absolute priority is given to those who are citizens of, and live and work in, a low-income country, followed by those in lower-middle income countries who received the highest review scores (i.e. some delegates from these countries unfortunately will not receive financial support)
  • Priority is given to those who have not previously received financial support to attend an iHEA congress

In order to assist as many applicants as possible, only partial funding will be provided to successful applicants. We urge all applicants, particularly those from upper-middle income countries, to explore alternative sources of funding. Email notifications on the outcome of funding applications have been circulated; no notification will be sent to those who do not have an accepted abstract for the congress.

iHEA Statement on Travel Restrictions to US

The iHEA Board of Directors is deeply concerned about recent restrictions on entry to the United States and about their possible impact on diversity at our upcoming congress in Boston.

iHEA’s mission is to increase communication among health economists across the world, and to foster a higher standard of debate worldwide in the application of economics to health and health care systems. Our membership spans 85 countries. Abstract submissions for our upcoming Boston congress came from 75 countries.

We view our internationalism as a source of strength and a means of promoting our intellectual development.  We also value diversity in other dimensions: race, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, age, socioeconomic status, religion and disability.

To mitigate the possible impact of the travel restrictions, we are trying to expedite the abstract review process so members can apply early for visas. Please refer to for information on visas and invitation letters.


 * If your organization is interested in sponsoring the congress, please see details here.



Scientific Committee: Program Chairs

Denzil Fiebig, Chairperson


University of New South Wales, Australia

Carl Asche

University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria, USA

Ana Balsa

Universidad de Montevideo, Uruguay

W. David Bradford

University of Georgia, USA

Kathleen Carey

Boston University, USA

Kitt Carpenter

Vanderbilt University, USA

Joanna Coast

University of Bristol, UK

Brenda Gannon

University of Manchester, UK

Lisa Gold

Deakin University, Australia

David Grabowski

Harvard university, USA

Dominic Hodgkin

Brandeis University, USA

Bruce Hollingsworth

Lancaster University, UK

Pinar Karaca-Mandic

University of Minnesota, USA

Donald S. Kenkel

Cornell University, USA

Paula Lorgelly

Office of Health Economics, London, UK

Jui-fen Rachel Lu

Chang Gung University, Taiwan

Manos Mentzakis

University of Southampton, UK

Richard Norman

Curtin University, Australia

Albert Okunade

University of Memphis, USA

Jennifer Prah Ruger

University of Pennsylvania, USA

Peter Sivey

Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology/RMIT, Australia

Sally Stearns

University of North Carolina, USA

Justin G Trogdon

University of North Carolina, USA



Scientific Committee: Review Panel

Salam Abdus  Hossein Afzali  Funke Alaba  Hareth Al-Janabi  Paul Allanson  Lazaros Andronis  Kathryn Antioch   John Ataguba  Adam Atherly  Neha Batura  Andres Berruti  Galina Besstremyannaya  Robert Brent  Ronelle Burger  Emily Callander  Chitalu Chama-Chiliba  Cyril Chang  Jie Chen  Susan Chen  Terence Cheng  Linda Cobiac  Daniel Cotlear  Chad Cotti  Paula Cronin  Alison Cuellar  John Denny  Dave Dhaval  Monica Diaz  Bernard Didem  Joe Dieleman  Padraic Dixon  Arin Dutta  Linda Dynan  Habib Hasan Farooqui  Talitha Feenstra  Ama Fenny  Lara Ferreira  Eleonora Fichera  Emma Frew  Omar Galarraga  Ariadna Garcia Prado  Christian Gericke  Adrian Gheorghe  Lara Gitto  Osea Giuntella  Manual Gomes  Louisa Gordon  Irina Grafova  Yuanyuan Gu  Harminder Guliani  Mutsa Gumbie  Gulcin Gumus  Jing Guo  Juan Gutierrez  Hassan Haghparast-Bidgoli  Mohammad Hajizadeh  Syed Hamid  Kara Hanson  Piya Hanvoravongchai  Steven Hill  Ann Holmes  John Hsu  Danny Hughes  Richard Iles  Por Ir  Mihajlo (Michael) Jakovljevic  Jayani Jayawardhana  Jeah Jung  Sapna Kaul  Marcus Keogh-Brown  Jahangir Khan  Irina Kinchin  Jennifer Kohn  Narimasa Kumagai  Karine Lamiraud  Jose Leal  Chunyu Li  Dean Lillard  Haizhen Lin  Charles Link  Chuan-Fen Liu  Borja Lorenzo  Oscar Lourenco  Fiona Lynn  Catherine Maclean  Shiko Maruyama  Felix Masiye  Ceu Mateus  Logan McLeod  Paul Mitchell  Manoj Mohanan  Haizhen Mou  Corrina Moucheraud  Brendan Mulhern  Lien Nguyen  Lauren Nicholas  Peng Nie  Justice Nonvignon  Konrad Obermann  Robert Obsfeldt  Obinna Onwujekwe  Raymond Oppong  Sachiko Ozawa  Jay Pan  Michael Pesko  Stavros Petrou  Troy Quast  Carlota Quintal  Krishna  Rao  Jeff Round  Caroline Rudisill  Jane Ruseski  Ramzi Salloum  Sabina Sanghera  Nazmi Sari  Abdur Sarker  Enrique Seoane-Vazquez  Suneeta Sharma  Lizheng Shi  Joanne Spetz  Chengxiang Tang  Meng-Chi Tang  Jose Tapia  Naomi Van der Linden  Veronika Vargas  Sukumar Vellakkal  Andres Vencino-Ortiz  Bruno Ventelou  Pablo Villalobos  Surrey Walton  Li Wang  Marcia Weaver  William Whittaker  Ed Wilson  Edwin Wong  Chun Yee Wong  Xiao Xu  Myra Yazbeck  Tansel Yilmazer  Winnie Yip  Yongsay Yong  Xinzhi Zhang  Harry Zhang  James Zhang  Peter Zweifel



Local Organizing Committee

James (Jim) Burgess, Chairperson


Boston University School of Public Health (Health, Law, Policy and Management Dept.)

Kathleen Carey

Boston University School of Public Health (Health, Law, Policy and Management Dept.)

James (Jim) Rebitzer

Boston University, Questrom School of Business

Randall (Randy) Ellis

Boston University, College of Arts and Sciences, Dept. of Economics

Francesco DeCarolis

Boston University, College of Arts and Sciences, Dept. of Economics

Alan Cohen

Boston University, Questrom School of Business

Peter Rockers

Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Global Health and Development

Ana Balsa

Universidad de Montevideo & National Agency for Research and Innovation (ANII), Uruguay

Peter Neumann

Tufts University, Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences

Dominic Hodgkin

Brandeis University, The Heller School

Till Baernighausen

Harvard University’s Chan School of Public Health, Department of Global Health and Population

Anthony (Tony) LoSasso

University of Illinois School of Public Health, Dept of Health Policy and Administration

Guenter Fink

Harvard University’s Chan School of Public Health, Department of Global Health and Population

Omar Galarraga

Brown University School of Public Health, Health Services, Policy and Practice

David Grabowski

Harvard Medical School, Department of Health Care Policy


Contact Us

Need to get in touch?

Sarah Stockton, Event Coordinator

1 416 944-3183 Ext 238

Contact Us

411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, ON M5A 3S5




The International Health Economics Association was formed to increase communication among health economists, foster a higher standard of debate in the application of economics to health and health care systems, and assist young researchers at the start of their careers.

Read More About Us